The Global Language of Business
  1. Home
  2. Industries
  3. Healthcare
  4. 2022 Francophone Africa GS1 Healthcare Summit

2022 Francophone Africa GS1 Healthcare Summit

May 10 - 12, 2022 (Virtual)

8:00 - 11:00 am EDT / 12:00 - 15:00 pm GMT

An event to increase countries awareness about global standards (GS1) in Francophone Africa

The purpose of this activity is to increase Francophone countries in West and Central Africa awareness about global standards (GS1) by organizing a 3-day virtual Francophone Africa GS1 Healthcare Summit.

To increase countries awareness about global standards (GS1) in Francophone Africa, the USAID GHSC-TA Francophone TO project planned to support the participation of key national counterparts, including representatives from the regulatory body and from the central medical stores (CMS) from various African countries to attend the 37th Global GS1 Healthcare Conference in Paris, France from March 24-26, 2020 and to participate in the GS1 Healthcare conference in Cairo, Egypt in November 2020. Following the onset of the Covid-19 pandemic, both conferences were canceled. Subsequently, all GS1 Healthcare conferences for FY21 were canceled allowing for no opportunity for national counterparts to build on their awareness of global standards and to benefit from discussions and networking that occur during these meetings.

Through this summit, MOH counterparts will learn of how GS1 enhances patient safety, operational and supply chain efficiencies. Through these meetings healthcare leaders are able to share and discuss progress made towards the adoption of global standards for the betterment of patient safety, supply chain security and efficiency.

Proposed objectives

Agenda

Day 1 - 10 May 2022

Setting the stage and laying the foundation

Video: 2022 Francophone Africa GS1 Healthcare Summit (Day 1) here.

Time: 12:00 – 12:15 GMT / 8:00 – 8:15 EDT

  • Representative for USAID
  • Representative for GS1 Global Office
  • Representative for GHSC-TA Francophone TO

Time: 12:15 – 12:30 GMT / 8:15 – 8:30 EDT

  • Participant introductions
  • Virtual Group Photo

Time: 12:30 – 12:50 GMT / 8:30 – 8:50 EDT

  • Short introduction to global standards, including who and what is GS1, role of the GS1, the different GS1 components applicable to the healthcare (Identify, Capture, Share)

Presenter(s): Geraldine Lissalde Bonnet (GS1) - confirmed

Time: 12:50 – 13:10 GMT / 8:50 – 9:10 EST

  • What is traceability?
  • What is the recommended approach for traceability?
  • Traceability policy paper

Presenter(s): Anita Sands (WHO) - confirmed

Time: 13:10 – 13:30 GMT / 9:10 – 9:30 EST

  • The move towards pharmaceutical traceability by African countries: Why & how, progress to date
  • Experiences from Nigeria: COVID-19 traceability

Presenter(s): Professor Mojisola Adeyeye (NAFDAC, AMRH) - confirmed

Time: 13:30 – 13:45 GMT / 9:30 – 9:45 EST

Time: 13:45 – 14:15 GMT / 9:45 – 10:15 EST

Time: 14:15 – 14:30 GMT / 10:15 – 10:30 EST

  • An overview of the Global Steering Committee for Quality Assurance of Health Products member collaboration on traceability in Francophone Africa.

Presenter(s): Tom Woods (World Bank) - confirmed

Time: 14:35 – 15:00 GMT / 10:35 – 11:00 EST

  • An overview of NPC initiative, including a product master data overview and NPC tools.

Presenter(s): Swaroop Jayaprakash (GHSC-PSM) - confirmed & Ramy Guirguis (USAID/PRH) - confirmed

Day 2 - 11 May 2022

Approaches to kick-starting pharmaceutical traceability system in-country

Video: 2022 Francophone Africa GS1 Healthcare Summit (Day 2) here.

Time: 12:00 – 12:15 GMT / 8:00 – 8:15 EST

Time: 12:15 – 12:30 GMT / 8:15 – 8:30 EST

  • Updates on the NPC implementation in Rwanda, including challenges and considerations for implementation.

Presenter(s): Edouard Jose Munyangaju (Rwanda FDA) - confirmed

Time: 12:30 – 12:45 GMT / 8:30 – 8:45 EST

  • Updates on the NPC implementation in Ethiopia, including challenges and considerations for implementation.

Presenter(s): Heran Gerba (Ethiopian FDA) - confirmed / Al Shiferaw (JSI) - confirmed

Time: 12:45 – 13:00 GMT / 8:45 – 9:00 EST

  • Updates on the NPC implementation in Benin, including challenges and considerations for implementation.

Presenter(s):
Habib Ganfon (Benin Ministry of Health) - confirmed
Yossounon Chabi (Benin Regulatory Authority ABRP) - confirmed
Maximillien Kpodjedo (Presidency of the Republic of Benin) - confirmed
Jean-Pierre Sallet (GHSC-TA Francophone TO) - confirmed

Time: 13:00 – 13:15 GMT / 9:00 – 9:15 EST

Time: 13:15 – 13:45 GMT / 9:15 – 9:45 EST

Time: 13:45 – 14:30 GMT / 9:45 – 10:30 EST

Panel Lead: Dah El Hadj Sidi (GHSC-TA Francophone TO) - confirmed

Panelist(s):
Pascal Aulagnet (Pfizer) - confirmed
Collins Agoro (Roche) - confirmed
Dirk Van den Wouwer (Johnson & Johnson) - confirmed

Time: 14:30 – 15:00 GMT / 10:30 – 11:00 EST

  • Perspectives from PSM – How they have navigated mandating companies to comply with GS1
  • Overview of GS1 solution provider effort – what does GS1 do in this space and how can this support country efforts

Presenter(s): Rachel Smith (GHSC-PSM) - confirmed / Sophie Molle (GS1) - confirmed

Day 3 - 12 May 2022

Where are we headed and how do we get there?

Video: 2022 Francophone Africa GS1 Healthcare Summit (Day 3) here.

Time: 12:00 – 12:15 GMT / 8:00 – 8:15 EST

Time: 12:15 – 13:35 GMT / 8:15 – 9:35 EST

Panel leader: Dah El Hadj Sidi (GHSC-TA Francophone TO) - confirmed

Panel members:
Mphatso Kawaye (Malawi Regulatory Authority - PMRA) - confirmed
Salvator Sindayigaya (Burundi Regulatory Authority - ABREMA) - confirmed
Violet Ketani (GHSC-PSM) - confirmed
Jean Miller (GHSC-PSM) - invited, and Nuran Idris (GS1) - confirmed

Time: 13:35 – 13:45 GMT / 9:35 – 9:45 EST

Time: 13:45 – 14:45 GMT / 9:45 – 10:45 EST

Presenter(s): Country delegates

Time: 14:50 – 15:00 GMT / 10:50 – 11:00 EST